In a bid to fulfill its obligation, the Visitation Panel constituted by the Kwara State Government, led by Prof. Halidu Abubakar visited the Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin between Monday 18th and June, 2012.

The visit to the Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin which houses the School of Early Childhood Education (ECCE), Primary Education Studies (PES), Junior Secondary School (JSS), Adult and Non-formal Education (ANFE), Special Education (SPED) offered the visiting team the opportunity to assess equipment, manpower and facilities available for teaching and learning.

The Visitation Panel had the mandate to give a comprehensive report on the activities of all the tertiary institutions in the State: Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin, Kwara State College of Education, Lafiagi, Kwara State College of Education, Oro and College of Arabic and Islamic Legal Studies, Ilorin in the past five years, a reaction from the government, perhaps on the growing concern over the steady decline in the standard of education and quality of teachers in the State, coupled with the inability of the colleges to fulfill their financial obligations.

On-the-spot visit was made by the visiting team, and memoranda were obtained from stakeholders- academics and the general public while a public hearing commenced on Thursday 26th June, 2012. Order of appearances came as follows: the Governing Council, Management team of the College, Unions, College Model Schools, Members of the College Community and other Stakeholders respectively.

The membership of the Visiting Panel was to the Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin was made up of Chairman, Prof. Halidu Abubakar, Alhaji Sheu Abdulrahman, Prof. Hassan Salihu, Barr. Suleiman Atolagbe and Barr. Ajao A. I. as Secretary. That of Kwara State College of Education, (T) Lafiagi: Chairman, Prof. Shehu Jimoh, Alh. Mudi A. Gold, Prof. Bayo Lawal, Mr. James Kolo and Mr. J. K. Oye as Secretary. Members of the visitation panel to Kwara State College of Education, Oro: were Chairman, Chief J. O. Ogunlowo, Chief J. B. Ogunrinola, Prof. AbdulRaheem A. Mahmoud, Alh Saliu Baba Arowolo and Alh. A. A. Nallah as secretary.