Members of the Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin Cooperative, Thrift and Credit Society have elected new executives to run the affairs of the society for the next one year.

The new executives took over from the Mr. Jimoh Ahmed Ayinla led executives that have been in office since 15th May, 2015. The election started with the accreditation of eligible voters by 9:00am on Tuesday 23rd October, 2018. A total of 444 cooperators were accredited by 12:00 noon when the exercise closed.

Voting started at about 12:30 pm after the leaders of the team from the Ministry of Commerce and Cooperatives had addressed the accredited voters. Although arguments ensued on the mode of election between members of the electoral committee and representatives of the Ministry, it was amicably resolved based on the promise by the ministry to be fair to all.

Apart from the post of the Assistant General Secretary which was unopposed, all the other posts were keenly contested.

In a landslide victory, Mrs. Sanusi Oluwatoyin defeated her opponent for the post of President, Mr. Agboola Abubakadir with 349 votes to 64 votes.

Mrs. Kosemani Zainab had 290 votes as against 116 votes garnered by Abdullateef Kareem to become the Vice President while Mrs. Akanbi Sarat of the Bursary Department became the Treasurer by defeating Ayinla Abdullahi Koroagba (aka Mukadam) with 272 votes to 130.

In her acceptance speech, the newly elected president Mrs. Sanusi Oluwatoyin promised to serve with the fear of God and urged all cooperators to be patient with the new team as a lot needed to be carefully put in place.